Guide to Writing Legislators in Support of The Academic Bill of Rights · 07 February 2006

Filed under: New York

Editor's Note: The following instructions were put together as a guide to instruct supporters of S6336, the New York State version of the Academic Bill of Rights, how to write to the Chair and members of the New York Senate Higher Education Committee in support of the bill.

Please write Senator Kenneth P. LaValle and express your support

S6336 DEFRANCISCO: It is an act to amend the education law by adding a new section 224-b creating an academic bill of rights.

1/9/06: S6336 was referred to the New York Senate Higher Education Committee

Sponsors: DeFRANCISCO, JOHNSON, MALTESE, MARCHI, MEIER, MORAHAN, PADAVAN, WINNER (2/1/06 - OUT: GOLDEN, TRUNZO)

Summary: Creates an academic bill of rights that ensures an academic environment for both students and faculty members that allows freedom of political viewpoint, expression and instruction; requires institutions of higher education to publish such bill of rights and to adopt a grievance procedure to address complaints of violations of such rights.

Send Faxes and Letters to:

Senator Kenneth P. LaValle
Chair, Higher Education Committee
Legislative Office Building, Room 806
Albany, New York 12247
Phone: 518-455-3121
Fax: 518-426-6826
E-Mail: lavalle@senate.state.ny.us

In addition please write the following Senators. The more Senators we contact the better.

NEW YORK SENATE HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE:

Senator James L. Seward (R-Oneonta)

917 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3131

Fax: 518-455-3123

seward@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Toby Ann Stavisky (D-Queens)

504 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3461

Fax: 518-426-6857

stavisky@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Mary Lou Rath (R-Genesee, Erie)

310 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3161

Fax: 518-426-6963

rath@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Suzi Oppenheimer (D-Westchester)

515 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2031

Fax: 518-426-6860

oppenhei@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Serphin R. Maltese (R-Queens)

413 State Capitol Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3281

Fax: 518-426-6951

maltese@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Byron W. Brown (D-Erie, Niagara)

615 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3371

Fax: 518-426-6969

bbrown@senate.state.ny.us

Senator James S. Alesi (R-Monroe)

905 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2015

Fax: 518-426-6968

alesi@senate.state.ny.us

Senator George H. Winner Jr. (R-Elmira)

802 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2051

Fax: 518-455-3332

Senator Catharine M. Young (R-Allegany)

805 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3563

Fax: 518-426-6905

cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Liz Krueger (D-Manhattan)

302 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2297

Fax: 518-426-6874

lkrueger@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Jose M. Serrano (D-Bronx)

706 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2795

Fax: 518-426-6886

serrano@senate.state.ny.us

Senator David J. Valesky (D-Syracuse)

707 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2838

Fax: 518-426-6885

valesky@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Kevin S. Parker (D-Brooklyn)

517 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2580

Fax: 518-426-6843

parker@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Joseph E. Robach (R-Rochester)

902 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2909

Fax: 518-455-3093

robach@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Ruben Diaz Sr. (D-Bronx)

304 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2511

Fax: 518-426-6945

diaz@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Michael A.L. Balboni (R-Nassau)

803 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2471

Fax: 518-426-6817

balboni@senate.state.ny.us

Senator John J. Flanagan (R-Suffolk)

817 Legislative Office Bldg., Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2071

Fax: 518-426-6904

flanagan@senate.state.ny.us

NEW YORK SENATE SPONSORS OF S6336:

Senator John A. DeFrancisco (R-Syracuse)

307 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3511

Fax: 518-426-6952

JDEFRANC@senate.state.ny.us

(OUT) Senator Martin J. Golden (R-Bklyn)

946 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2730

Fax: 518-426-6910

golden@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Owen H. Johnson (R-Suffolk)

913 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3411

Fax: 518-426-6973

ojohnson@senate.state.ny.us

Senator William J. Larkin Jr. (R-New Windsor)

612 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2770

Fax: 518-426-6923

larkin@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Serphin R. Maltese (R-Queens)

413 State Capitol Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3281

Fax: 518-426-6951

maltese@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Raymond A. Meier (R-Utica)

944 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3334

Fax: 518-426-6921

meier@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Thomas P. Morahan (R-Rockland County)

848 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3261

Fax: 518-455-2959

morahan@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Frank Padavan (R-Queens)

505 State Capitol Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-3381

Fax: 518-455-2008

padavan@senate.state.ny.us

(OUT) Senator Caesar Trunzo (R-Suffolk)

711 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2111

Fax: 518-455-2113

trunzo@senate.state.ny.us

Senator George H. Winner Jr. (R-Elmira)

814 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247

Phone: 518-455-2091

Fax: 518-426-6076

SAMPLE LETTER:

Date

Senator Kenneth P. LaValle
Chair, Higher Education Committee
Legislative Office Building, Room 806
Albany, New York 12247

Re: S6336 DEFRANCISCO (ACADEMIC BILL OF RIGHTS)

Dear Senator LaValle:

As the parent/friend of students (or as a former student/teacher) from (a New York) College/University, I am concerned about political bias in the classroom, especially in the social sciences and humanities. Ideological bias compromises education. College and university professors should not abuse their authority by injecting irrelevant political agendas into the college classroom. Too often, university faculties have engaged in indoctrination rather than education, and have silenced and penalized students who have disagreed with them.

(If you prefer, you may add a brief experience of abuse by professors)

I write in support of the Academic Bill of Rights, a powerful act of legislation that will lead the way in providing a positive academic environment that offers both students and faculty freedom of intellectual expression and the spirit of healthy debate. Higher education ought to be reformed to ensure that students enjoy free speech to the same degree as their professors do. The Academic Bill of Rights is a first step to accomplishing the necessary reform.

The Unions will fight this measure until the bitter end to preserve unaccountability and the status quo. Please be a voice for the people and insure that students at New York State Universities are receiving the best possible education, not the worst type of propaganda.

Sincerely,

[Your Name]